Nursing Director Tapped for Top Leadership Training Program

Dr. Dena Evans
Tuesday, July 10, 2018

Dr. Dena Evans, director of the UNC Charlotte School of Nursing, has been selected to participate in a leadership training program offered by the American Association of Colleges of Nursing (AACN). Evans is among 30 academic nursing leaders from across the nation who will join the 2018 AACN-Wharton Executive Leadership Program.

The event is held at the University of Pennsylvania on August 6-9, with instruction provided by Wharton faculty, who will present content designed to advance academic administrators to a higher level of leadership.

The curriculum for the AACN-Wharton program is designed to provide the concepts and tools needed to enhance leadership capacity and hone the skills that are essential to thrive and move forward strategically. The content addresses issues around managing and leading change, influencing and galvanizing a diverse set of stakeholders, and building enterprising relationships in highly volatile environments. Participants leave the program equipped with an advanced set of negotiation, leadership, and influencing skills, as well as the confidence and ability to serve on or lead high-powered boards.

In addition to Evans, the following individuals were also selected to attend:

  • Shanna Akers, Liberty University
  • Angela Amar, University of Nevada, Las Vegas
  • Todd Ambrosia, Mount Sinai Beth Israel
  • Karen D'Alonzo, Rutgers The State University of New Jersey
  • Marla De Jong, University of Utah 
  • Kimberly Dudas, University of South Carolina Beaufort
  • Linda Edelman, University of Utah
  • Lorna Finnegan, University of Illinois at Chicago
  • Mary Gallagher Gordon, Drexel University
  • Phyllis Graham-Dickerson, Regis University
  • Jacqueline Haverkamp, Otterbein University
  • Troy Heidesch, Brenau University
  • Shannon Idzik, University of Maryland 
  • Pamela Johnson Rowsey, The University of North Carolina Greensboro
  • Jan Jones-Schenk, Western Governors University
  • Lorna Kendrick, California State University San Marcos
  • Sheila Melander, University of Kentucky
  • Emily Merrill, Texas Tech University 
  • Angela Moss, Rush University 
  • Cindy Munro, University of Miami
  • Ainslie Nibert, Texas Woman's University
  • Adey Nyamathi, University of California, Irvine
  • Susan Patton, University of Arkansas
  • Rosemary Polomano, University of Pennsylvania
  • Kathleen Rourke, SUNY Polytechnic Institute
  • Deanna Schaffer, Drexel University
  • Tracy Schreiner, Arizona College 
  • Holisa Wharton, Lander University
  • Margaret Wilmoth, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill

Program participants come from 19 states and represent an array of institution types, including small, private, public, and large academic health centers.

The American Association of Colleges of Nursing (AACN) is the national voice for academic nursing representing 810 schools of nursing nationwide. AACN establishes quality standards for nursing education, influences the nursing profession to improve health care, and promotes public support of baccalaureate and graduate nursing education, research, and practice.